Tim BradyCalendar

Press Releases
Hi-Res Photos
Tim Brady on FacebookHistoryRepertoireProductions
Instruments of Happiness
Of sound mind, and bodyListen to MP3sVideos on YouTube Join our e-mail listContactTim plays GuitarFrançais
NewsBiographySolo GuitarDiscographyList of WorkPress
Instruments of Happiness

Of Sound, Mind and Body
improvised music ensemble

Tim Brady – electric guitar, electronics
Helmut Lipsky – violin
Shawn Mativetsky – tabla, percussion

“Of Sound, Mind and Body” is the world of music in the hands of three master musicians. It is spontaneous music creation that resonates with tradition but is driven by innovation and imagination.  It is neither new nor old, it is simply music, in real time.

“Of Sound, Mind and Body” is the trio of composer/improvisers made up of Tim Brady (electric guitar, electronics), Helmut Lipsky (violin) and Shawn Mativetsky (tabla, percussion). These three musicians bring a remarkable range of experience and vision to the table: Lipsky is a classical and jazz violin virtuoso, Mativetsky is one of Canada’s foremost proponents of the traditional Indian tabla and of world music percussion, and Brady is an acknowledged international electric guitar innovator and composer.  Together, they work with a palette of sounds and ideas that encompass the history and future of musical expression.

What sets this trio of improvisers apart is both their visionary approach to open musical ideas and their inherent understanding of musical form.  This is true free improvisation – it can be tonal, atonal, modal, hyper-chromatic, neo-romantic, punk rock-loud, Feldman-soft, simple, chaotic. Everything is allowed, imagination and conviction are the only prerequisites. It is not about a narrow musical style, it is about using music to create connections with other musicians and the public.

The key to the success of their performances is the sense of drama and structure that these three musicians bring to the improvisational process.  Lipsky, Brady and Mativetsky naturally think in expressive musical phrases, building the performance with the same sense of balance and daring as a composed work of chamber music.  The ebb and flow of tension and release – the life-blood of most of the world’s musical traditions – is at the heart of the creative process that is “Of Sound, Mind and Body”.


Tim Brady - Electric Guitar - see Biography (above)

Shawn Mativetsky – Tabala, Percussion
Versatile percussionist Shawn Mativetsky performs in a variety of musical genres with dynamism and skill. Equally at home in Indian classical music, world music, and contemporary/new music, Shawn also composes and performs for dance and theatre. Exponent of the Benares gharana, and disciple of the legendary Pandit Sharda Sahai, Shawn Mativetsky is a highly sought-after tabla performer and educator. He is active in the promotion of the tabla and North Indian classical music through lectures, workshops, and performances across Canada and internationally. Based in Montreal, Shawn teaches tabla and percussion at McGill University. His solo CD, Payton MacDonald: Works for Tabla, was released in 2007, and Cycles, his new CD of Canadian compositions for tabla was released in the fall of 2011.

Helmut Lipsky - Violin
Violinist Helmut Lipsky is the prototype of the accomplished musician of today: born in Germany, raised in Switzerland in the tradition of classical music, and studied with the great masters in New York, including Itzhak Perlman, where Lipsky developed as an improviser and composer.

His mix of musical languages (jazz, tango, popular and traditional music of other cultures), solidifies Lipsky’s very personal and identifiable style. He has twice been nominated for Felix awards for Best CD, and has collaborated with the likes of Swiss harpist Andreas Vollenweider, American cellist David Darling, and German singer Gerhard Schöne. Lipsky has performed at such prestigious events as the Montreux Jazz Festival in Switzerland and Berlin’s Summer Festival.
He has written, interpreted and produced music for theatre, cinema, multimedia installations and television. Special events, like his Concerto for violin and chainsaw, which premiered at the opening of the international Symposium of Contemporary Arts in Amos, brought his eclectic style to international attention.
Helmut Lipsky teaches young violinists at the Conservatoire de Musique de Montreal, jazz violin at the University of Montreal and Concordia, and gives master classes throughout Quebec and Europe. He has degrees in Performance and Pedagogy from the Conservatory of Winterthur, Switzerland, and a Master’s degree from New York’s Brooklyn College Conservatory.

Lipsky’s awards include the Order of French Music and the Presidential Scholar Award of the Council of the City of New York.

Tim BradyCalendriercommuniques de pressePhotos Hautre Résolution
Tim Brady sur Facebook
Bradyworks - Historique
Repertoire
Productions
Instruments of Happiness
Of sound mind, and bodyExtraits audio
Clips sur YouTube
Inscription a l'infolettreContact
Tim Brady Guitare
To English pages
NouvellesBiographieGuitare SoloDiscographieListe des oeuvresRevue de presse
Instruments of Happiness
 
 

Of Sound, Mind and Body
ensemble de musique improvisée

Tim Brady : guitare électrique, électroniques
Helmut Lipsky : violon
Shawn Mativetsky : tabla, percussions

« Of Sound, Mind and Body », c’est le monde de la musique placé entre les mains de trois maîtres. C’est la création musicale spontanée alimentée par la tradition, mais motivée par l’innovation et l’imagination. Cette musique n’est ni jeune ni vieille, c’est simplement de la musique en temps réel.

« Of Sound, Mind and Body » est un trio de compositeurs-improvisateurs formé par Tim Brady (guitare électrique, électroniques), Helmut Lipsky (violon) et Shawn Mativetsky (tabla, percussions). Ensemble, ces trois musiciens cumulent une gamme remarquable d’expériences et de perspectives : Lipsky est un virtuose du violon classique et jazz; Mativetsky, l’un des plus grands joueurs de tabla indien traditionnel et de percussions du monde au Canada; et Brady, un innovateur de la guitare électrique et un compositeur de renommée internationale. Ainsi, ils font usage d’une palette de sons et d’idées qui recoupe l’histoire et l’avenir de l’expression musicale.

Ce trio d’improvisateurs se distingue par sa recherche visionnaire d’idées musicales ouvertes et sa compréhension de la forme musicale. Leur improvisation est réellement libre : elle peut s’avérer tonale, atonale, modale, hyperchromatique ou néoromantique; avoir le volume du punk rock ou la douceur de Feldman; être simple ou chaotique. Tout est permis et les seuls prérequis sont l’imagination et l’assurance. Cette musique n’est pas étroite de style : elle cherche à tisser des liens avec les autres musiciens et l’auditoire.

La clé de la réussite des concerts de ces trois musiciens réside dans le drame et la structure qu’ils insufflent à l’acte d’improvisation. La pensée de Lipsky, Brady et Mativetsky s’exprime naturellement en phrases musicales; l’improvisation est construite avec le même équilibre et la même audace qu’une musique de chambre dûment composée. Au cœur de la démarche créative qu’est « Of Sound, Mind and Body », on trouve le flux et le reflux de la tension et de son relâchement – le pouls de presque toutes les traditions musicales du monde.

BIOGRAPHIES

Shawn Mativetsky : tabla, percussions
Percussionniste polyvalent, Shawn Mativetsky exécute avec dynamisme et brio des pièces de tous genres. Tout aussi à l’aise dans la musique traditionnelle de l’Inde que dans la musique du monde ainsi que dans la musique occidentale classique, contemporaine et actuelle, Shawn Mativetsky collabore également à des productions de danse et de théâtre à titre de compositeur et interprète. Donnant des conférences, des ateliers et des prestations au Canada et à l’international, il s’engage à faire connaître le tabla et la musique traditionnelle du Nord de l’Inde. Établi à Montréal, il enseigne le tabla et les percussions à l’Université McGill. Son album solo, Payton MacDonald: Œuvres pour Tabla est paru en 2007, et Cycles, son nouvel album, constitué de compositions canadiennes pour tabla, est sorti en 2011. Dévoué à la musique classique de l’Inde, Shawn Mativetsky est disciple du légendaire Pandit Sharda Sahai, de la tradition de tabla de Bénarès.

Helmut Lipsky : violon
Le violoniste Helmut Lipsky est le modèle du musicien accompli d’aujourd’hui. Né en Allemagne, il a grandi en Suisse dans la musique classique, avant d’étudier avec les grands maîtres (dont Itzhak Perlman) à New York, où il a développé ses talents d’improvisateur et de compositeur.
Son mélange de vocabulaires musicaux (jazz, tango, musique populaire et musiques traditionnelles d’autres cultures) en fait un musicien singulier au style identifiable entre tous. Il a été en lice à deux reprises pour le Félix du meilleur album. Il a aussi collaboré avec le harpiste suisse Andreas Vollenweider, le violoncelliste américain David Darling et le chanteur allemand Gerhard Schöne. Lipsky s’est produit dans des événements prestigieux comme le Festival de jazz de Montreux (en Suisse) et le Festival d’été de Berlin.
Il a écrit, interprété et réalisé des musiques pour le théâtre, le cinéma, la télévision et des installations multimédias. Des événements spéciaux comme la première de son Concerto pour violon et scie mécanique, en ouverture du Symposium d’art contemporain d’Amos, ont attiré l’attention de la planète sur son style éclectique.
Helmut Lipsky enseigne à de jeunes violonistes au Conservatoire de musique de Montréal. Il enseigne aussi le violon jazz à l’Université de Montréal et à Concordia, en plus de présenter des classes de maître à travers le Québec et l’Europe. Il détient des diplômes en interprétation et en pédagogie du Conservatoire de Winterthur (Suisse), ainsi qu’une maîtrise du Brooklyn College Conservatory de New York. Il a reçu l’Ordre de la musique française et le prix Presidential Scholar du Conseil de la Ville de New York.